Is honey vegan?
No honey is’t vegan as it is produced by animals (bees). Honey bees convert nectar (from flowers) into honey by regurgitating nectar. This makes that honey is produced by an animal and thus not vegan.
The “art” of beekeeping itself is a joke and this is why. Honey is produced by bees to be able to survive during winter. When a beekeeper collects the honey (at the end of the summer) he robs the place blind and gives sugar (syrup) in return for their labor. Many beekeepers kill larva’s to prevent them from becoming queens. For the sole reason that when there are two queens in a hive the old queen leaves the hive and takes most of the bee population with her. Leaving the beekeeper with less honey production.
Do vegans eat honey
Normally vegans don’t eat honey but when you keep bees it is a nice trade if you eat the remaining honey (if any) in April or May. Of cource there are vegans who eat honey even without keeping any bees and strictly speaking those people aren’t vegans. There are many alternatives and easy available alternatives to honey like Stevia and Maple syrup. So there are no excuses to eat Honey.
Comments or questions feel free to let them know below.